History of the building

The building was erected for Niccolò Grimaldi by Domenico and Giovanni Ponsello, starting from 1565. Grimaldi was known as the Monarch, as he could boast a series of noble titles and countless loans to Philip II.
Built on three lots with two large gardens enclosing the central body, it is the most impressive building on the Strada Nuova. The large loggias overlooking the street were added in 1597 when the building became the property of Giovanni Andrea Doria, who bought it for his younger son Carlo, Duke of Tursi, after whom the building is named.
Since 1848, it has become the Town Hall.
The façade is characterised by the alternation of different materials and colours: rose-coloured stones from Finale Ligure, grey-black slate, fine white marbles from Carrara. Palazzo Doria Tursi - The courtyard
The main front shows two different orders. The mezzanine floor alternates windows of original design with rustic protruding pilasters, replaced by Doric pilasters on the upper floor. Mascarons featuring animal-like grimaces adorn the windows of both floors, contributing to the three-dimensional appearance of the façade.
The majestic marble portal is crowned by the coat of arms of the city of Genoa. The original and brilliant architectural design of the interiors – atrium, staircase, rectangular courtyard above the portico and the double-flight staircase – is very innovative, creating a wonderful game of light and perspective.
The building is the culmination of the splendour of the Genoese aristocratic housing.

  • Main entrance of  Palazzo Tursi
  • Atrium and colonnade of  Palazzo Tursi
  • Open gallery of  Palazzo Tursi