Fawcus Cup

Fawcus cup or Queen Elizabeh cup

Click here to view image

Genoa President George Fawcus offered a trophy to the winners of the Italian Championship; the first time this cup was won by Milan in 1901 with a 3-0 victory over Genoa, undefeated until that moment. The following three titles were won by the Rossoblù team (Genoa) and that sanctioned their definitive possession of the cup in 1904. During her visit to Genoa in October 1980 Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II of Great Britain received the prestigious trophy as a reminder of the founding origins of the multi-sport association, the Genoa CFC. In actual fact, as Royal Protocol permits the Queen to accept gifts only from Heads of State, the trophy remained in Genoa, with the addition to the bidder's name and the name of the monarch